future, Health, Insanity, Self, Uncategorized

Changing who you are now for the betterment of your future self

Happy 2014 everyone!

Unlike a lot of people I didn’t set a new years resolution this year, I tried but didn’t have enough time but I wanted it to be something about dieting, losing weight, whatever, I didn’t set it in stone and didn’t start from day one. In 2013, I didn’t shave at all, I had  a bushy beard at the end of 365 days without shaving. I did this to prove to myself, while yet small, that I can do anything that I can control.

Fast forward to this past Tuesday: I went to a Live Your Legend local meetup. One of the last questions asked in a mingling exercise was: “What is it that you want to leave behind in this world, what will your legacy be?”

I’ll admit I didn’t have an answer at first, I thought about it long and hard. I eventually reflected on what I would have said to answer it if it was a few years ago. I wanted to better others through the software that I create. But then I asked myself why that isn’t that the case now. I answered myself, “I just want to live a longer life, to make sure I don’t leave this world in the next two years.”

I’m 330 pounds (150 Kg), have been for about a year now, I know that this is a plateau and it’s just a matter of time before I will break past that and be 380 lbs. or dead in a blink. I did this to myself and I somehow convinced myself that it was ok. No more. I want to live to see past thirty. I have to change.

Right now, I am following the Slow Carb Diet.(as outlined in The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman). I am also doing yoga in the mornings, swimming at night. Just today I also spent an hour walking and I also added in the Insanity fitness test, Tomorrow I’ll do the first day to the best of my ability. I just shaved my head to cut down on the build up of heat and sweat on my head as well. I am still trying things out so I can create a schedule around exercise and other activities.

Unfortunately, I am low on work lately, I’ve been doing freelance work but it’s been kinda slow. I have to persist through this even though I don’t know what my financial situation might be, because I want to live and see past the age of 30, I have to do this for myself. I just hope it doesn’t drive my wife insane, because she gets stressed with financial concerns. Maybe I can find a part-time job nearby, but I feel like I have to change things drastically and from the ground up I need to find what works for me so I will be healthy. I will admit I usually have an issue with taking on multiple things at a time, being that I work 8 hours and then I am just so beat by the time I get home or off work I just want to be a vegetable until its bedtime or I get tired. Now the only way I know how to work around that is to just make exercise and eating the primary focus, and then schedule in other things. I could use help with that, but I need to start and continue to focus on eating right and exercising.

I did the fit test today as I mentioned for the insanity program I am following. Here are my results.

Switch Kicks: 79
Power Jacks: 22
Power Knees: 45
Power Jumps : 28 (modified because I dont trust jumping high at my weight)
Globe Jumps: 7
Suicide Jumps: 7
Pushup Jacks: 6
Low Plank Oblique: 18 (modified with belly on mat, since my belly sticks out so far)

My goal is to lose 100 lbs by the end of the year, I believe this is attainable. I may run into an  issue as my doctor believes I have a thyroid issue. But I’m gonna power through that.

Check out the book if you are interested.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Changing who you are now for the betterment of your future self

  1. Ed Nau says:

    Good Stuff Farrin and thanks for sharing. I think you should keep it as simple as possible and not stress out too much about it. Two things for you to remember as you go for this goal. 1. Is your diet. Very important to eat healthy. I would recommend trying to go Paleo as much as possible. 2. Planning your daily exercise routine and making it a habit. Eating healthy and keeping your body moving so that your heart rate gets up will sheed the pounds for sure. If I can ever encourage you or you need a push, don’t hesitate to call me to tell you to get out there and just do it. You will make this happen.

    • Thank you Ed. I actually tried paleo and lost 25 lbs doing it for several months! One thing that I disliked about the diet was that I was always hungry. After trying SCD, I was convinced, first of all it wasn’t all that different than the paleo diet and the meals I had as a child living with my grandparents. I find the addition of “slow carbs”–meaning pretty much beans, pinto, black, and kidney–cuts out that hunger factor until about my next meal, I’ve only done SCD previously for 2 weeks before thanksgiving, I lost about 5 lbs a week. A good overview of the diet can be found here http://scdlifestyle.com/about-the-scd-diet/ . One thing that authore doesnt touch upon is the SCD cheat day which is really unaptly named as it serves more purposes than just eating whatever you want, check out http://www.slowcarbfoodie.com/2012/02/28/the-ultimate-guide-to-the-4-hour-body-cheat-day/ if you want to know more about the cheat day. Thanks for your support!

Comments are closed.